The Importance of Balance

The importance of balance is a lesson that I have revisited repeatedly throughout my lifetime.

When I entered the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, I was a new college graduate and newlywed young woman. I was happy the material was familiar, but shocked and sometimes overwhelmed at the volume.  It was coming at a rate that felt almost impossible to manage.  I soon learned that I had to follow a “stop studying” time because there was never a “finish”. I also realized that falling behind on studying or sleeping was not an option because there was never any makeup time. I also realized I needed exercise, to keep my mind going.  I started walking and attending exercises classes almost daily. By the spring of my first year, I was in the swing of things.  I had my medical school life in order, but I had left one thing out.  No time for our marriage. Knowing that I loved my husband and I wanted to stay married, I made a few more adjustments.  I decided to give Ken Friday nights. No books, no studying, no talking about school, just us.  This seemed like a big sacrifice, but it was well worth my time and a great decision. It took me a while to get there, but this was my new schedule and at last, I found a balance between school and my life.

Fast forward to internship and residency.  As a student, I was interested in family practice with OB or OB/Gyn.  After much consideration, I choose family practice without OB.  This decision was hard to make but I had to take into consideration my strong desire to start a family.  I realized the unpredictable long hours of OB was not conducive to the family life I wanted.  So FP without OB it was.  I have never regretted making a career choice that gave me the ability to have the family I wanted.

After years of family practice, taking call with the residents for a week at a time at the hospital, and the birth of our third child I realized, I had to give up hospital call.  I received a lot of criticism for this decision.  I was told I was not committed to my profession or a “real doctor”.  When I considered this criticism, it hurt, but I realized osteopathic medicine was my chosen career- not my life!  My life was a combination of being a physician, a wife, and a mother of three young children.  I stopped taking call.  This was a great decision.

There have been many other times that my eyes have been opened.  These are times when I realize I need to say “no” to too much work or over commitment. Or other times, when I need to say “yes” to my family and myself.  Life brings many challenges and surprises.  Things and events, you never dream could happen.  Some wonderful and other times devastating.

What is balance? Balance is:

  • Recognizing your heart’s desires
  • Being true to yourself
  • Realizing money and position are not everything
  • Knowing your limits
  • Claiming your truth
  • Using your mind, but staying in touch with your heart
  • Asking for help when you need it
  • Realizing asking for help is ok
  • Counseling is a good thing

These are what make for a balance personal and professional life for me.  Balance leads to better physical and mental health, not to mention happiness. Here’s to balance!

Carol S. Browne, DO

BeFunky-collage

Leave a comment